Athena Award

The Athena Award was invented in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan, to recognize outstanding business and professional women in the community and to create leadership opportunities for women. Over twenty years later, the program continues to honor those who help foster the potential of all women as valued members of and leaders of the community.

Award Criteria
Women and men are eligible to be nominated. Nominees will be judged on their ability to meet each of the following specified criteria:

  • The nominee actively assists women in realizing their full leadership potential. This can be in the form of mentoring, providing employment or education opportunities, or any other demonstration of investment in the welfare, professional or otherwise, of women.
  • The nominee demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession.
  • The nominee provides valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community.
  • Nominee must work and/or live in Westerly, Charlestown, Richmond, Hopkinton, Wyoming, Wood River Junction, RI, and/or Stonington/Pawcatuck, CT.
  • Nominee must not have been nominated in the past 5 years for this award.

Diana Serra 2013 Diana Serra Lydia Teixeira 2013  Lydia Teixeira
Marta Parsons       2012           Deb Nigrelli 2011         Deb Nigrelli
Gloria Smith Russell 2009 Gloria Smith Russell
Jeannette Misuraca 2007 Jeannette Misuraca
Rogean Makowski 2005 Rogean Makowski
Barbara Stillman 2003 Barbara Stillman
Mary Ellen Buckley 2010 Mary Ellen Buckley
Dawn Smith 2008 Dawn Smith
Sandy Niles 2006 Sandy Niles
Donna Kirby-Reynolds 2004 Donna Kirby-Reynolds